My Top Ten List of Alien Invasion Books by End of Normal author Susan Arscott

Today, I'm glad to have the author of End of Normal, by Susan Arscott, we here top ten of Aliens invasion books!! I love this theme, so I'm super excited to read all about it!! Let's see!

My Top Ten List of Alien Invasion Books

Before I share my top ten list with you, I need to explain that I write and love YA (young adult) and MG (middle grade) fiction. Now you may be wondering why I’m taking up your precious time with this slightly odd non sequitur when all you’re interested in is checking out my list of the best alien invasion books ever in the history of alien invasion books. I hear you, still you need to understand that my list is skewed a little in the direction of MG and YA, meaning some of my choices are different from the standard fare, so be warned. And don’t worry, for all you purists, the classics are here too. Here goes in no particular order. 

Footfall by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle (1986) Not my favorite alien invasion, but who can resist aliens that look like baby elephants. Not me. This book is really out there, with a lot of crazy strange ideas; the cover alone is bizarre to the max. Yes, you got it right at first glance, it is a baby elephant holding a gun. This book is on my list because it’s just plain weird and the writing is fine.

War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells (1898) The cool thing about this book is that unlike any of other alien invasion books—before airplanes, Sputnik, the moon landing, satellites, and all the rest—Wells imagined this over-the-top story. His writing is lovely and the story is one of the most inventive novels I’ve ever read. 

The Kraken Wakes by John Wyndham (1973). You know the bizarre commercial for Kraken Rum that shows black tentacles gripping the bottle. Well, if you read this book, you’ll understand, not about rum, but about the Kraken, a slimy sea creature reminiscent of a giant octopus. I like this book for a couple of reasons, including Wyndham’s effective use of first person, a point of view I use and like. 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (2013) This started out great, the problem is that Yancey, although a gifted writer, doesn’t seem to want the story to end, so he goes on and on and on and on. It is YA and one of the few books I actually took the time to review on Goodreads and because I am shamelessly lazy and don’t feel like rewriting it, you can go to it and check it out. A sequel is due out soon.

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (2010) Also YA, this is An-Alien-Among-Us genre, which is always cool. Fast and exciting, the action pulls you in and keeps up a rapid pace pretty much throughout. You’ll need to take a couple of breaks to catch your breath. 

The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex (2007) This is a wonderful middle grade alien invasion of the humorous kind as only MG writers can come up with. My Teacher is An Alien by Bruce Coville is another great example. Adam Rex is a master and this book is fun, fun, fun. It’s geared for 8-12 years old, but older readers, including ancient ones such as I, can enjoy Rex’s version of aliens. 

Alien Invasion and Other Inconveniences by Brian Yansky (2010) On the surface, this YA invasion novel appears to be a fun romp among the invaders and those taken, but it’s really much more thought provoking. Yansky handles serious topics including slavery, religion, and ecology deftly. No preaching here, just a good read.

Adaptation by Malindo Lo (2012) Actually, now, as I think about this YA book, I realize I don’t like it all that much. It’s too filled with endless and annoying teenage angst, something I don’t think you’d spend much time on in an alien invasion. There is also a token lesbian romance that isn’t all that romantic. So, consider Adaptation as one to read only if you like the idea of a clichéd and predictable plot. Why did I originally add it to this list? Oh yeah, there’s a conspiracy and I’m a sucker for conspiracies. 

First Day on Earth by Cecil Castellucci (2010) Now this is a YA book I think you’ll love. It’s told in first person and not from the viewpoint of the best looking, most incredible student like most Sci-Fi protagonists. Instead, it’s the story of Mal, a misfit who had me at You think you know what I am, the kid slumped in his chair in the back row, with greasy hair, wearing all black. You’re kind of scared of me. At last, a Sci-Fi book not about a near perfect teen. It’s for readers 12 and up. My only complaint is that it’s not long enough. Good things may come in small packages, but this one’s too good to be so small. 

Enders Game by Orson Scott Card (2010) An MG to YA book about a boy genius. Yes I realize I just whined about how weary I am of them, but that’s kind of the point of Enders. Government agencies breed genius kids to fight against aliens. It’s a good book, lots of interesting plot twists and the characters, despite their brilliance, are nicely human and far from perfect. 

Okay, so there you have it, nine alien invasion books that I hope you read and one that’s listed because, well, I’m not sure why, oh yeah it has a conspiracy. I also want to mention that my own YA invasion book, End of Normal, is being released today. And for those of you disagreeing with my list, visit me at my website, and drop me a line about your favorite aliens. Happy Reading!

Thanks for passing by. All those books are amazing! You, my lovely readers, keep reading to know more about Susan Arscott's book.

Picture

Sometimes what you think is normal, is anything but.

Told in the vein of Susan Pfeiffer’s LIFE AS WE KNOW IT and Courtney Summers’ THIS IS NOT A TEST, this new YA novel will appeal to fans of Sci-Fi both young and old. END OF NORMAL is now available at Amazon and Champagne Books. Get to know more about Susan in this exclusive letter to readers...

End of Normal

16-year-old Olivia Richards’ last day of normal is simply that, normal. She spends her entire pre-school morning dressing to impress gorgeous guy Sawyer Rising, the hottest guy in high school. She argues with her mother about her skinny jeans being too tight, which Olivia considers ridiculous because isn’t that the point of skinny jeans? Sometimes her mother makes no sense. Olivia’s normal world also includes her gentle astrophysicist father and her twin brother Charlie, who is deaf. Despite proclaiming that his deafness is no big deal, deep inside Olivia feels it is a big deal and that it’s her duty to protect him.

Olivia’s normal ends that night when strange lights shoot out of the sky and turn into stinging drones, killing their parents, or at least they think their parents die, but do they? Forced to flee, the twins join forces with friends Axel, Clara, and Sawyer, to search for answers to the strange invasion. Discovering a conspiracy to hide the location of a second earth, they search for a way to stop the destruction of their world.

About the Author

Susan worked as a high school teacher until she thought her head would explode from all the ideas and questions her students asked. Thinking it would be easier; she foolishly switched from teaching to the ridiculous job of professional fundraiser. After spending more years than she wants to admit begging strangers for money, she gathered what pride she had left and enrolled in Spalding University’s MFA program where she became blissfully happy working with other writers and improving her writing. She currently lives and writes in Seabrook, Texas with her husband Mike, Vlad the cat, and their deaf dog Chester.

My first YA novel, END OF NORMAL, will be available October 6, 2014 by Champagne Books and can be purchased through any online bookstore. I am in the process of developing a new, and much better website, but until it’s ready, you can check out my current, rather pitiful site. It has my bi-weekly blog and books I’m working on. My new site will be much better, so bookmark my web address and check back in a few weeks. 

Find Susan here:


Giveaway

$20 Gift Card (Amazon or B&N)

Keep up with the tour by stopping by one of these fabulous sites: 

Oct 7th: Coffee Books & Art
Oct 8th: Run with Jackabee
Oct 9th: Romance Junkies
Oct 10th: StoreyBook Reviews
Oct 13th: Indie Authors Books and More
Oct 14th: Literary Escapism
Oct 15th: Lulo Fangirl
Oct 16th: Living in a Bookworld
Oct 17th: Archaeolibrarian - I dig good books!
Oct 18th: Metro Detroit Mommy  
Oct 24th: The Cover Contessa 

CONVERSATION

1 comments:

Hello!

Thanks for passing by and read my blog. My blog feed with comments, so if you caring anough to leave some, I will be really happy.

Thanks for share the love.

Back
to top